Are Live Albums Next?

I’d like to hear everyone’s thoughts on this…

Will the growing popularity of streaming and the emphasis shift from albums to singles, what impact will this have on the Live Album?

I’ve always had mixed feelings about LIVE albums. They were either really awesome (KISS ALIVE I, II, III, Ozzy Live & Loud) or really disappointing (Poison: Swallow This Live). What I also found was the ones that were really awesome were their best start to finish. I never liked hearing just one track off a live album. I personally enjoyed them in the full context of the album. Wasn’t that the point, give people the opportunity to bring the live experience home?

That all being said…hearing a live song via streaming either randomly or in a playlist just doesn’t work for me. Sure there are classic live songs like Cheap Tricks “I Want You To Want Me” which is hard to imagine any other way, but for the most part unless it’s part of the whole concert/album it just doesn’t seem to work for me.

Am I the only one who feels this way? And if I’m not, could streaming and the emphasis shifting from albums to singles lead to the demise of the Live Album?

About thef3k

Danny Fournier is a marketing expert with close to 20 years working within the music industry, including 5 years with a major label. With university degrees in both Marketing and Sociology, Danny brings a unique perspective to marketing with a strong understanding of the needs of the end user and how to engage them. Along with his music and business background, Danny has worked as a corporate trainer, facilitating and write courses for corporate audiences. Danny has been commended for his facilitation skills and understanding of adult learning.
This entry was posted in A Good Read, Opinion, Predictions, Rant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment