Favourite Albums Of 2016

This was harder to put together than I initially thought it would be. Not because there weren’t many good releases this year. In fact it was the opposite. There was a lot of great releases this year, but that wasn’t what made this challenging.

What ended up making this task challenging was that some albums I assumed were released this year actually came out in late 2015. Late enough, that I assumed they came out in in 2016.

That being said…here is my Top 5 releases from 2016 (in no particular order)

Ghost “Popestar” – technically not an album, only an EP but still one of the most listen to albums in my library this past year. I jumped on the Ghost band-wagon a couppopestar-300x300le albums ago and I’ve become a bigger fan with each release.

 

Skillet “Unleashed” – for a ‘Christian’ band, Skillet has just the right amount of aggression in their songs and this was evident once again with their new album “Unleashed” featuring tracks like “Feel Invincibleskillet-unleashed-album-cover-image

 

Sixx A.M. “Prayers For The Blessed” – Anyone who knows me probably isn’t surprised to find this album on my list, but in my own defence one of the things that I feel makes this album so good is that I was disappointed with it’s predecessor “Prayers For The Damned”, which also came out this year. I knew there was going to be a ‘Volume 2’ to follow “Prayers For The Damned” but wasn’t expecting it this year, so it getting released so soonunnamed-23 after made it even better.

 

Anthrax “For All Kings” – I simply just like Anthrax. They are one band that has stayed fairly constant throughout their career (even when switching out lead-singers fanthraxor a couple albums). The chorus in “Breathe Lightning” is HUGE, almost arena-rock anthematic which you typically don’t hear from Anthrax, but this song still screams ANTHRAX

 

Royal Tusk “Deal Breaker” – Going local for my last pick. I’m not doing this to ‘support local’ or just to help a local band out. I genuinely really enjoyed this album and wroyal-tusk-300x300as proud to know these guys were from Edmonton. You’ll see their single “Fever” on another 2016 list which I will be posting later.

So that’s my list. Let me know what you think. Agree or disagree. Looking forward to hearing new music in 2017.

About thef3k

Danny Fournier is a marketing expert with over 15 years working within the music industry, including 5 years with a major label. With university degrees in both Marketing and Sociology, Danny brings a unique perspective to marketing with a strong understanding of the needs of the end user and how to engage them. Along with his music and business background, Danny has worked as a corporate trainer, facilitating and write courses for corporate audiences. Danny has been commended for his facilitation skills and understanding of adult learning.
This entry was posted in Lists, New Releases, Random Round Up. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

